posted in: Action/Adventure, Young Adult | 2

alasiaby Annie Douglass Lima


Book 1: Prince of Alasia

Twelve-year-old Prince Jaymin, heir to the throne of Alasia, barely escapes with his life when invaders from neighboring Malorn attack. Accompanied by Erik, his young bodyguard and friend, Jaymin flees to a nearby town to live in hiding. There, coming face to face with the hardships suffered by the poor, he determines to improve his people’s lives someday when he takes the throne, assuming he can reclaim his kingdom. 

In his struggle to retain his identity and yet blend in with children in the local school, Jaymin’s life depends on his ability to protect his secret from both enemy troops and unsuspecting townsfolk. Meanwhile, Erik must resort to his skills in unarmed combat to defend Jaymin against everyone from a gang of schoolyard bullies to the Malornians who regularly patrol the streets looking for trouble – and for the missing prince.

As the search intensifies and his enemy’s suspicions grow, Jaymin seeks desperately for a way to save his kingdom and himself. Then he stumbles upon a startling discovery that will challenge his assumptions and forever change his view of Malorn and the events that altered his life.

“In the Prince of Alasia, all I want from the author is MORE!!!!”

“We are in need of great literature that appeals to both children and adults alike, and Annie Douglass Lima has hit it with Prince of Alasia. It is a page-turner full of believable characters and good moral values.”

“The plot and characters are rich, meaningful, memorable and believable.”

Book 2: In the Enemy’s Service

Enslaved when invaders take over Alasia, ten-year-old Anya discovers ways to spy on the enemy and slip information to the resistance. But then Anya uncovers a disturbing reference to her own family and is confronted by a stranger who seems to know her secrets. Holding her life in his hands, he claims to have proof that her father was involved in the betrayal that led to the Invasion itself. 

“This book has suspense, drama, mystery, espionage, intrigue … everything that makes for a good story. The writing was so well done that you can lose yourself in the time period and forget you are just sitting on your couch.”

“Middle-schoolers would most certainly love this story.”

“Prepare to finish this book in one sitting! It was adventurous and had me at the edge of my seat the whole time.”

Book 3: Prince of Malorn

One major obstacle stands between seventeen-year-old Prince Korram and the throne that is his birthright: Regent Rampus.  Temporary ruler of Malorn, Rampus has no intention of giving up his position when the crown prince comes of age – or of allowing the prince to live long enough to reach that age.  

Desperate to build an army of his own to stand against the regent, Korram treks into the Impassable Mountains to try to recruit the one segment of Malornian society not under Rampus’s control.  But can he lead a band of untrained hunters and gatherers to victory against the full might of the Malornian military?  Or will they all be crushed by the grasping hand of the regent before the prince can claim his rightful throne?

“Each story in this series is a stand-alone novel, but it is very fun to read all three and see different perspectives of the same story. The accuracy between the novels is amazing, and it’s also incredible that one can read the same story three times and never have a dull moment- even when you think you know how things will be wrapped up!”

“Quite an exciting mystery and adventure.”

CIR: What inspired your series?

LIMA: It came to me in a dream – literally!  I woke up one morning and thought, “What an interesting dream.  I should write it down.”  It started off as a short story, but after countless revisions it became the novel Prince of Alasia.  Later I wrote In the Enemy’s Service to fill in some of the gaps and answer some questions that the first novel left open.  The two stories take place at roughly the same time, but in different locations and (mostly) to different characters.  They can be read in either order.

CIR: What would you compare this series to?

LIMA: It’s similar, in a way, to the Tales of Goldstone Wood by one of my favorite fantasy authors, Anne Elisabeth Stengl.  Some of her books, too, take place in overlapping time periods but to different characters.  Like hers, my books are connected in places when the characters who “star” in one story meet the “stars” of the other.

CIR: Reviewers commented that the characters are very real.  Are any of them based on someone you know?

LIMA: I modeled Miss Arrin, the teacher, after the kind of teacher I’d like to be (my day job is teaching 5th grade).  The rest of the characters are alive and well and very active in my imagination, but I don’t know them outside of there.

CIR: What themes do you address in this series?

LIMA: Without making my books preachy, I try to put in themes related to high moral standards: honesty, perseverance, loyalty, forgiveness, and grace.

CIR: Your readers were begging for more.  Will you oblige?

LIMA: Definitely!  I have two more books in the works, with a whole set of ideas that may someday find their way into the series.  The next book, Prince of Malorn, is due out in May of 2014.  It will complete the trilogy by providing a third perspective on the political events of the first two books, though it starts several months earlier than they do.  King of Malorn, which is currently in the editing stage, takes place five years later and brings together all the main characters from the trilogy.

Learn more about Annie Douglass Lima and her writing at her website.

Lia London, host of this site, read the series and loved the character development.  See the review here (for Prince of Alasia) and here (for Prince of Malorn).

2 Responses