posted in: Fantasy, Young Adult | 0

Aerisia 1 coverby Sarah Ashwood


Book 1: Aerisia: Land Beyond the Sunset


From Earth to Aerisia, Hannah Winters has gone unexpectedly from college student to prophesied savior of a parallel world. Here in Aerisia, the existence and survival of all depend upon her as Aerisia’s Artan who must battle and defeat the dread Dark Powers. Plenty of people, including the Moonkind, fairies, giants, and even the Simathe, a mysterious race of immortal warriors, are willing to help Hannah navigate this new world and its pitfalls. However, there’s only one person Hannah can count on to truly save her, and that’s herself. In order to save herself, she’ll have to become a woman with magic: the Artan.

“I have a soft spot for goofy heroines, good looking yet hardened men, and a dash of magic in a foreign land. Thankfully I found all of that in this book.”

“This book had me hooked. The characters, the plot, the vivid imagery.”

“This author really knows how to paint an amazing and rich world. If you like your escapist fantasy to take you away to a place that is almost too beautiful to imagine, then this book, and the rest in the series, are for you. I highly recommend it.”

Available on Amazon and Barnes & Noble


Aerisia 2 coverBook 2: Aerisia: Gateway to the Underworld


Discovering she is another world’s prophesied heroine was not something Hannah Winters could have ever predicted. However, having accepted the mantle of Aerisia’s Artan, Hannah must now move beyond the pain of the past and conquer her magic in order to save this land. Will the pitfalls awaiting her—suspicion, rumors, lies, betrayal, murder, warfare—halt her quest? Who is Hannah’s ally, and who only appears to be? Will shocking revelations about her heritage push her away or convince her that she’s walking the right path? With the Dark Powers growing bolder every day, Hannah’s pursuit of answers leads her to the Underworld, a place where even immortals dare not tread, on a journey from which she may not return…

“This book was absolutely amazing!! We will see Hannah Winters in the land of Aerisia in a movie one day!! The world that has been created is a beautiful one and I loved it.”

“Captivating read, well characterized … Realistically handled fantasy that begs the reader to trust and believe.”

Available on Amazon and Barnes & Noble


book 3_533x800Book 3: Field of Battle


As the Dark Powers and their dreaded champion gather their forces, all of Aerisia holds it breath while Hannah Winters, their long-prophesied Artan, continues her quest in the Underworld. Should she overcome its deadly snares, is warfare against the Dark One all that awaits? Or is there a chance for love with the immortal Simathe High-Chief, and a lasting peace for her adopted homeland? To fulfill prophecy, she’ll have to triumph where other Aerisian champions have failed, which means surviving betrayal by friends and contesting the full might of the Dark Powers. To succeed and live, she’ll have to defeat an enemy no one could have predicted with a power no one knew she possessed. Friendship and treachery, love and hatred, faith and despair, and life and death will all be played out on the final field of battle, in an epic struggle not only for Aerisia’s survival, but its Artan’s, as well…

“I freaking loved this book! It’s my favorite out of the 3!! I knew it was gonna be EPIC and that it was!”

“What a wonderful fantasy romance! This trilogy has it all.”

“I have just finally finished this series and I must say that I am quite pleased at the ending. The stories about good vanquishing evil have never been as well-written as in this trilogy.”

Available on Amazon and Barnes & Noble

CIR: What inspired this book?
ASHWOOD: Two things: a love of speculative fiction—be it fairytales, fantasy, paranormal, mythology, or folktale—and a sunset walk down a country road. My neighbor raised horses and had a huge, old stump in his pasture: as I walked past, my overactive imagination sometimes tricked me into thinking that stump was a bear, a dog, or a stranger in flowing robes…which got me to wondering about would happen if I actually ran across a stranger from another time period or world. Put these factors together, and Aerisia was born.

CIR: What message do you hope your readers will get out of this book?
ASHWOOD: To not be afraid to take risks and accept change. The trilogy’s main character, Hannah Winters, is slow to accept the mantle of Artan (understandably, I think), but as the books progress she grows into that role by learning to accept change and take risks. I think there’s a little something in all of us that sometimes wants to cling to the status quo, but who knows what we can accomplish if we open ourselves up to the possibilities? Ultimately, as Artan, that’s what Hannah has to do.

CIR: What is Hannah like?
ASHWOOD: Hannah Winters is an ordinary young woman from Colorado, working part-time at her father’s newspaper and attending classes at her local community college, when she’s swept unexpectedly to another world and told she’s its prophesied savior. Initially, Hannah has a hard time dealing with these life-shattering changes, leading some readers to criticize her as being too whiny. However, Hannah definitely grows and matures during her time in Aerisia, as she learns to adjust to life in another world, saying goodbye to her family and life on Earth, discovering the use of magic, and, ultimately, finding true love as she prepares to make the ultimate sacrifice in order to save her new homeland.

CIR: If you could create the perfectly specific genre title for this series, what would it be?
ASHWOOD: Young Adult-New Adult Epic Fantasy? Truthfully, this series could fit either Young Adult or New Adult, due to the main character’s age and the book’s PG-13 appropriateness. However, adults will enjoy it too.

CIR: Is there any content that some viewers might find questionable despite the overall “clean” rating?

ASHWOOD: In Book 1, there is a rape attempt by one of Hannah’s archenemies, but it is foiled and nothing graphic is depicted. Books 2 and 3 do contain some battle scenes, but the violence is not gratuitous. Nevertheless, because of this content, I would personally assign a PG-13 rating to the series.